The JMK Young Director Award

The JMK Young Director Award

Application deadline 2019

This prestigious, annual award is presented to one young theatre director of outstanding potential enabling them to mount a professional production. In 2019 the winning production will be presented at the Orange Tree for the first time with the winner’s production forming a core part of the theatre’s annual programming. At this new home, the JMK Award will offer one director under 35 the opportunity to direct a full-scale Orange Tree show.

The JMK Trust was established in 1997 following the death of James Menzies-Kitchin, a young director of exceptional talent and promise.

Winning the JMK Award has been instrumental in launching the careers of some of Britain’s finest directors including Thea Sharrock, Natalie Abrahami, Bijan Sheibani, Roy Alexander Weise, Polly Findlay and Joe Hill-Gibbins.

First round submissions for the Award are being accepted via the JMK website from 10.00am on Friday 25 January until 11.30pm on Wednesday 30 January 2019.

This year applicants will need to choose from a new list of plays which is available on request.

Click here for more details

Some restrictions apply.